AlphaStar Alumni

As AlphaStar Academy, we are incredibly proud of having so many invaluable Alumni of A-Star/AlphaStar programs. Below, we are presenting some of them among thousands. We will be adding more soon.


Evan finished his Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from MIT in 2018 and is currently working towards his Ph.D. also in Mathematics at MIT. He received an Honorable mention for the Morgan Prize in 2019. In high school, he participated in a lot of math competitions; became a winner for USAMO 2014, and earned a Gold Medal in IMO 2014. Fun fact: Evan took USAMO 2014 between 12:30 am and 5:00 am in Taiwan.

Since then Evan has continued helping the math community. To name a few of his roles, he is the USAMO editor-in-chief since 2019, USA team selection coordinator since 2017, Math Olympiad Summer Program staff since 2016, and Math Olympiad coach since 2016. He is also the author of the book: Euclidean Geometry for Math Olympiads and streams olympiad problems on

Evan took USAMO/MOP level classes from A-Star between 2012 and 2013 and participated in CHMMC and HMMT with A-Star teams between 2012 and 2014. He has taught AIME and USAMO level courses at A-Star camps in 2013 and 2014 and gave some guest lectures since then. He contributed to the A-Star curriculum for AIME, USA(J)MO, and Master courses.

Evan is an avid player of Hanabi and a devoted Arch Linux user.


During his high school years, Andrew participated in USA Computing Olympiad (USACO) and was a USACO finalist three years in a row (2013, 2014, 2015). In his last two years, he represented the USA in the International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) and got gold medals in both 2014 and 2015. Andrew taught classes at A-Star camps as a competitive programming instructor.

He was also a math olympian who was a USAMO winner in 2013 and MOP participant in 2012, 2013 and 2014. He participated in several team competitions such as HMMT.

Later, he attended MIT as an undergraduate student and received his Bachelor’s degree double majoring in Mathematics and Computer Science in 2019. During his college years, he represented MIT at the International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) in 2016 and 2019 where the team ranked 6th and 2nd in the world.

He is currently a software engineer and an active top-ranked competitive programmer who is competing in contests such as Google Code Jam, Facebook Hacker Cup, TopCoder and Codeforces.


Andrew is a student at MIT studying Math and Physics. In high school and college he has participated in many math competitions. Among his achievements are five times USA(J)MO qualification 2014-2018, MOSP qualification in 2016, and Putnam HM awards in 2018 and 2019. He also received two perfect scores on AMC10 and a perfect score on AIME.

Andrew participated in A-Star Summer camps and master classes in high school. He also participated in several math competitions including Princeton Math Competition, Caltech Harvey Mudd Math Competition, and Harvard-MIT Math Tournament with A-Star teams. In particular, he was on the legendary AlphaStar team who won the HMMT February 2018.

He taught several courses at AMC 10/12 and AIME levels at A-Star camps and designed the Geometry curriculum for MathCounts/AMC8/10/12 and AIME level courses. His favorite memories from A-Star are drawing enlightening geometry diagrams during classes and playing card games with teammates after math competitions.

Andrew is a big fan of music (of all genres, particularly classical and video game music) and of rhythm games.



David Yang, MIT Class of 2018, IMO 2011 & 2012 Gold Medal

Steven Hao, MIT Class of 2018, IOI 2013 Silver, 2014 Gold Medal

Lawrence Li, MIT Class of 2020, IOI 2016 Gold Medal

William Hu, MIT Class of 2022, IOI 2018 Bronze Medal

Eric Zhang, Harvard Class of 2023, IOI 2018,2019 Gold Medal

Brandon Wang, MIT Class of 2024, IMO 2019 Gold Medal

Sanjana Das, MIT Class of 2025, EGMO 2020 & 2021 Gold Medal, AIME perfect scorer

Freya Edholm, MIT Class of 2023, SFBA/NorCal ARML teams coach

Swapnil Garg, MIT Class of 2022, USACO Finalist 2016, 2017

Avichal Goel, MIT Class of 2022, USACO Finalist 2016

David Zhu, Harvard Class of 2021, USACO Finalist 2014, 2015

Nicholas Guo, MIT Class of 2021, USACO Finalist 2015

Yang Yan, MIT Class of 2021, USACO Finalist 2014

Sean Shi, MIT Class of 2020, USACO Finalist 2015

Tony Wang, MIT Class of 2020, USACO Finalist 2015

Hugh Zhang, Stanford Class of 2019, USACO Finalist 2015

Brian Shimanuki, MIT Class of 2018, USACO Finalist 2013

Zachary Chroman, MIT Class of 2022, IMO 2017 Gold Medal

Richard Spence, MIT Class of 2016, twice MathCounts National qualifier

Jennifer Zhang, MIT Class of 2025, 6 times AIME qualifier

Connect With Us